Wednesday, November 5, 2008

2008 MLS Awards round 1

Chicago Fire goalkeeper Jon Busch was voted the 2008 Panasonic Goalkeeper of the Year.

New England Revolution defender Michael Parkhurst was named the winner of the MLS Fair Play award, and the Revolution earned the MLS Team Fair Play award, recognizing the MLS club with the fewest disciplinary points during the 2008 regular season (I don't think Khano Smith helped).

Still to be announced:
MLS Comeback Player of the Year Finalists
Jon Busch - Chicago Fire
Kenny Cooper - FC Dallas
Santino Quaranta - D.C. United (my vote)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists
Jimmy Conrad - Kansas City Wizards (my vote)
Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew
Bakary Soumare - Chicago Fire

Adidas Referee of the Year Finalists
Michael Kennedy
Jair Marrufo
Terry Vaughn

Gatorade Rookie of the Year Finalists
Geoff Cameron - Houston Dynamo
Kheli Dube - New England Revolution (my vote)
Sean Franklin - Los Angeles Galaxy

MLS Coach of the Year Finalists
Dominic Kinnear - Houston Dynamo
Sigi Schmid - Columbus Crew
Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes (my vote)

Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player Finalists
Cuauhtémoc Blanco - Chicago Fire
Landon Donovan - Los Angeles Galaxy
Guillermo Barros Schelotto - Columbus Crew

Newcomer of the Year
Darren Huckerby - San Jose Earthquakes (my vote)
Claudio Lopez - Kansas City Wizards
Andre Rocha - FC Dallas

Conrad should be in the MVP finalists, a defending, scoring, player leading quote machine like Jimmy is the clear MVP to me...

No comments:

Post a Comment